Home

Have you ever heard the saying that “Home is where your heart is.”? I’ve heard that ever since I was young but I never really took the “heart-thing” seriously. It was only when I worked far from home that I truly understood what the word meant.

It’s funny though that I became so engrossed with the idea of circles, families and homes while writing my thesis for my undergraduate degree. I even entitled my piece “Who My People Are”. As how titles should be without punctuation, it was a conscious effort not to place one. It would’ve been creative if I insisted on placing one but I did not. I wanted to leave it to my readers which mark should be there.

I wanted to depict people and their stories through the many literary forms.

Right where I am now, I feel sad sometimes because I see people who try so hard to drift away from their homes. I can’t judge them though because some have been unfortunate with theirs. As for me I was raised in a loving family. I have my parents, siblings and relatives all closely knitted together. We might not be the expressive type but we know for sure that we love each other. Then again, whatever home means to you —- you’ll levitate back to it if you really want to and no one will stop you from doing so.

I’ve lived with different families, too. I’ve seen people struggle and how they rejoice. But one thing I’m thankful of is how they earnestly take care of each other. I admire families who stay strong despite how difficult life is.

I want to see my family grow someday. I want to be where my heart truly is. If you think it’s a burden to kiss and say “I love you” everytime you leave home, then you must think again. It’s but a small thing that could go a long way that could brighten someone’s sad disposition.

It might just be an address or a temporary shelter for some but it’s a different story when you look forward to getting home because you value people in your life so much.

It’s just a bus ride off to familiar roads you’ve been estranged to–but surely the trip home can make you see not just who those people are in your life but most importantly, who you were and who you’ve become.

Leave a Reply

